Creative Detox 101- Day 2

Trees

Reflections of day 1: The day started off slow which was a much needed change. I slept in late (had the day off due to the holiday), and woke up naturally. I braided my hair and put together a comfortable outfit with comfortable tennis shoes that I could walk the woods in. Brown was my inspiration color. I headed up to Lake Merwin, one of the most secluded parks I know of which is also mostly unspoiled by man. On my way up I passed several log trucks. I couldn’t help but think of times when even putting the plow to the earth was considered a disruption. I wondered how much of this forest removal is actually necessary and how much is wasted. ‘Supply and demand,” I think.

As I get out of my car I feel almost trance-like. I know what to do. I walk the park and almost straight up to one of the largest standing cedars. It’s trunk must be 8-10 feet in diameter. I lay both of my hands on the trunk and close my eyes. I thank the tree. I thank the earth. I think to myself, ‘Surely God knows I thank Him as well for his creation.’ I stay there for several moments taking in the tree’s energy. I can see in my mind’s eye my own energy intertwined in an embrace. These words come to my mind.

Oh, beautiful sister

I hear your cry

My heart breaks

I’m sorry

Do we know what we do? 

No reverence. No regard. 

You’ve seen generation pass. 

Your strength. Your majesty. 

I hear you sister (your call for help). 

Please answer my question. What can I do? 

My answer was to start with being a voice. I was to trust in my journey.  I sat in the sun and felt the unusual warmth that February day. The wind blew strong enough to make noise and I realized that each element was present in that park. I wondered if that was part of the power I felt. My body drank it in. I remembered the task for one who hears the call of the mountain. ‘Bring home a stone.’  The rock I found was round and smooth. I wondered if it had washed up from the reservoir because of how smooth it had become.  I ended my fast later that evening with a kale salad and lentil curry soup. I remembered to thank Mother Earth in my blessing for the abundance provided through Father’s creation.

DAY TWO: Being Mindful of Your Body- Whole Foods & Moderate Exercise

Wear something red today. Dedicate the day to eating fresh fruits, fresh vegetables, nuts, seeds, and whole foods. If you eat meat on this day, make sure that it was treated humanely (free range and organic).  I’d also suggest to save it for dinner time. Treat yourself to fruit and vegetable smoothies. Continue drinking plenty of water. Go for a walk. Move your body. Tell your body how much you love and appreciate it. Ask your body out loud if there is anything it wants from you. Write it down. Place it in an area you will see each day as you wake, prepare and set your intentions.

Leave a Reply

