Listening to & Hearing “Me”

Weeks 5-8: February Morning Pages 

The Artist’s Way, Chapter 2 Recovering a Sense of Identity

Reflecting back on February brings recollections of emotional ups and downs. Moodiness crept in especially on days that I missed my Morning Pages. I noticed that I have began to depend on them to keep insight into my own thoughts and feelings. When that was gone, I began feeling foggy and out of touch with myself. It was like a barrier is formed between me and the outside world. When I completed my pages, the barrier was in place and I knew what I liked and what I didn’t like. I was aware of my inner desires. I was able to set boundaries more effectively with the other people around me as well. I felt more intentional. Also, in February, I noticed that I was more aware of my own negativity and not in a way that is personally judgmental. It was just more matter-of-fact. I was able to lightly think it over and just let it go without giving it too much importance. I knew when it was time to go for help. Sometimes we don’t have all the answers! Sometimes we need to go to other people for wisdom who we know we can trust. I am happy to say that even though I had a pretty challenging month, I was still able to move ahead in my creative endeavors and met my goals. I stayed the course!

14 responses to “Listening to & Hearing “Me”

  1. i like the thought you put into your month of recovering your identity – it has been such an adventure and I love doing this with such a group of women that are so inspirational to me – it keeps me going!

    • Thanks Vickie! I too am so grateful to find people with similar goals and the understanding of how important it is to cultivate creativity. It makes staying on the path even sweeter!

  2. Thank you for the great reminder here…”I knew when it was time to go for help. Sometimes we don’t have all the answers! Sometimes we need to go to other people for wisdom who we know we can trust.” This is something I’m better at….I used to never ask for help…but I have realized now when I need help, I just have to ask.

  3. This page of musing you have done here about Chapter Two is totally wonderful!
    I appreciate how you pointed out about the grounding fact of the Morning Pages and where it has helped you see what needs to be done in order to feel safe and creative.
    The last few months have been very difficult for me because of the loss of my father, my cat and a few other close elders, if it where not for these pages I would definitely be floundering around.
    You have also shown me a wise approach to further understand myself and a way to embrace who I am. Realizing about setting boundaries against distractors or intrusive opportunists is paramount for creativity to truly flow.
    Thank You you have inspired me!

  4. This page of musing you have done here about Chapter Two is totally wonderful!
    I appreciate how you pointed out about the grounding fact of the Morning Pages and where it has helped you see what needs to be done in order to feel safe and creative.
    The last few months have been very difficult for me because of the loss of my father, my cat and a few other close elders, if it where not for these pages I would definitely be floundering around.
    You have also shown me a wise approach to further understand myself and a way to embrace who I am. Realizing about setting boundaries against distractors or intrusive opportunists is paramount for creativity to truly flow.
    Thank You!

    • I am so happy that this approach will be useful for you. ❤ I feel like The Artist's Way has magic that goes along with it for every artist. May you find the insights that will assist you in your process!

  5. How wonderful that you realized how important the Morning Pages are to your own sense of self. Funny how we can depend so much on an action that we can have a say in that makes us feel so good. *cheers* to you my friend and many smiles.

  6. It’s wonderful that we have found the gift in Morning Pages, isn’t it? Like you, I find if I can put pen to paper, then the rest of my life unfolds before me in a more synchronatic way, if that makes sense. Those emotions that come up are sooooooo good for us! That means a disturbance has been had and is brushing against a thorn that has been penetrating in us for a long time! And, when this happens, it’s time to notice it and do something about it or breathe and let it go. Lately, I’ve just been writing about disturbances and trying to write through them to the thorn and let them go. Are you finding that is true for you?

    Love you site, too! 🙂

    Shari

    • Hi Shari,

      Thanks for sharing your reflections with me. I also think that this type of writing exercise is very helpful for moving through disturbances or challenges in my life. I don’t go looking for them though. If they come up while I am journaling, I go with it. I just go with whatever is on my mind at the time. ❤ Thanks! I will go check out your blog as well.

      Michelle

  7. Enjoyed my time here this morning, Michele. I love what you are doing on your site. As for morning pages or any type of journaling/doodling, where would we be without them? In my study of art, formal and casual, I find it is often how the edges are treated that make for an interesting piece. The dance of light and dark capture and hold our attention in subliminal ways. Without my morning pages and journaling it is easy to lose my “edges” in others and life goes gray very quickly. Especially if they are having a bad day and I get lost in the “fixing.” My morning quiet time of journaling, reading, praying and petting a purr-ball it what centers me for the day. Keep sharing your beautiful edges, my dear! 🙂

    • You have such an amazing way of expression. While reading your posts, I feel as though I am on an adventure and am excited to see where you will take me. I am going to ponder edges this morning. I am really enjoying this Life Book course as a new type of journaling. The process is actually very similar to the MPs for me. The layers in journal art are hidden in some cases just like a journal with your deepest thoughts. On the surface I like putting the affirmations. ❤

Leave a Reply

