Pretending

Week 4: The Artist’s Date

This week’s outing ended up being a combination of the end of chapter one’s exercises. The assignment is to write down 5 imaginary professions to try out and then to pick one. So, the first time that I did this exercise, I picked being a florist. The second time a garbage man/person. This time I went with “pretending” to be an artist.

I honestly wasn’t sure what it is exactly professional artists do, so I decided to go to the place where I have seen their fruits (a local art gallery that I had only glanced by at). I imagined that if I was an artist, I would want to have a card with me and introduce myself to the host/hostess. As I entered the building that was set up more like a mini mall, I was disappointed that the gallery was closed (after all it was Monday). I peeked in the windows of the gallery and its neighboring floral shop, but was saved that many paintings were displayed throughout the middle of the little building’s walls. I took my time studying the technique and styles of the different artists.

It wasn’t until I got to the back of the hallway that I found an artist whose technique and colors caught my attention. Two of her pieces were just about life size and told stories. One painting had many different stories of hope. I think that they were articles of different people that made up the bigger picture. The other was the story of her journey that highlighted all of the people who had made an impact on her life. I imagined this the healing properties of this work–almost like a journaling exercise. This seems like a concept of art that I already enjoy.

Next, I wanted to drop by and pick something special out for my artist. I dropped into one of my favorite discount stores and soon found charming aprons in the kitchen accessories. None of them were quite right, but I thought that a smock is definitely something that a “real” artist would need. All along, I was feeling a little silly because I realized that I still haven’t taken ownership of the title of artist. It sometimes seems like it is a title that someone else must bestow upon you. For now, I feel completely comfortable calling myself a creative.

Image

Elida Field Bio/webpage

Art on the Boulevard Facebook page

6 responses to “Pretending

  1. When I was young, my parents always had our house stocked with paper ( Uncles worked in paper mills), crayons, paint and other things that encouraged my brothers and I to keep busy. And before computers and the internet we had books. Especially Childcraft, the children’s editions of the Encyclopedia collection my father bought. I think that because we where never micro managed by our parents, encouraged no matter what it was we did, even if it wasn’t that great, we never felt discouraged. I love paper , colored pencils and crayons are a favorite. I might not be the greatest creative person, but I think I do it with joy and it gives ME satisfaction. I think my history is my greatest asset to give pleasure in my present.

    • I love that so much! I am so grateful for parents like yours! My own parents were very similar. I found creativity and reading to be an early outlet of enjoyment which continues today.

  2. i loved reading your thought process and how literal you approached your day as an artist. fun! thanks for sharing and i think what you just wrote was art. nice 🙂

  3. I am happy that my journey led me into your creativity groups and this website…Micehlle, you are a talented artist. As a writer myself, I know that I feel much like you express about calling myself a writer. It is as though I am waiting for someone else to make that distinction for me and of me. I am learning to create within my God given imagination, the affirmations needed to develop self-confidence in my abilities. It is not an easy thing to do for me as I have spent the better part of my life living in the shadows of fear and the lies that I have nothing to offer. Thank goodness, my core never fully bought into these lies and I keep seeking to create ways to make manifest, my life as a writer. Perhaps, as I continue to evolve my ideas around writing, my needs for artistry will find its’ way back to you. I really like your God given talents…it resonates with the writing style.
    Warmly and with Blessings….Janine

    • Thank you so much Janine. I wonder if for me some of it has to do with my lack of formal education for art. There is this idea that we must pay our dues to receive a title, so maybe that is where some of us get stuck. I am not sure if people who go through art school come out feeling like an artist. It would be an interesting survey! I noticed this with writing as well. While in my program, I looked for school program just for writers. I found journalism offered. There was classes that taught creative writing and academic writing, but no novel courses. I was able to find seminars and learn by reading a lot, but it still leaves you not really feeling like you’ve earned the title so to speak. These are my thoughts tonight. I am not sure how accurate they may be in other people’s cases.

      Thank you again. Michelle

Leave a Reply

