Imagination in Motion

Week 1: The Artist’s Walk

Procrastinating to get out for my walk this week was a problem. I am almost surprised at how long I put it off. Just getting out the door to take a walk hasn’t been the most appealing idea. I could think of a hundred other things that I would like to be doing!

So, when the sun went down this evening, I knew that I had to go. No more excuses. I put my warm gear on and ventured out with my phone and mini flashlight. Immediately, the drizzle of rain and coolness of the night got me thinking. A road that I had walked a million times in the daylight became a great scene for a fictional story. The walk was uneventful, but I noted the differences in the landscape and neighborhood on a drizzling evening. I wondered why more people don’t walk in the rain. I didn’t find it unpleasant. The sky was gorgeous. The clouds darkened in a line across the sky. I always thought that it was interesting that a couple miles away will be dry while I am getting soaked. The roads were empty. Almost no car traffic either. As I took my final turn to the road that leads back to my street, a man smoking on the side of his house came out of the shadows and started me a little, and I quickened my pace.

As I headed up my street, I realized once more that one needs to get out of their routines once in a while for imagination to flow. Sometimes doing something out of the ordinary gets the heart pumping once again. A walk is not only a walk, but it is research. Research for my work.

2 responses to “Imagination in Motion

  1. I love your descriptive imagery, Michelle. I felt like I was right there with you. I completely agree – we need to remember to mix things up every once in a while. Glad you got some inspiration time!

Leave a Reply

