Sunday Morning Musing

Did you ever wake up one morning and realize that it is so easy to take for granted what you have been taught your whole life? Not in the way that you don’t appreciate something at all or completely cast it aside as there is no value, but in a way that you realize that you have been given so much light and understanding and you have only achieved high levels of happiness for brief moments. However, you know there can’t be room for regret, but for grace because of all the challenges thrown at you by life.

I guess that is what I love about developing spirituality as a practice. It is like an onion with layer after layer. If you persevere with good tools and a honest heart, peace is possible. Sometimes it feels as though the moments are brief, but with hard work of sorts, longer periods of inner peace are possible.

Last week, talking to my brother I had an epiphany of sorts. He does not see himself as spiritual. As we talked, it hit me that sometimes when you reject your faith, you can throw the baby out with the bathwater so to speak. Sometimes the rejection of faith ends up making you feel even more alone and angry when what it was put in your life for was to help you achieve self-mastery and to nurture spirituality (at least this is how I have interpreted my faith). For example, I was taught to pray three times a day thanking God for my blessings and asking Him for what I stand in need of. I was also taught to ask for blessings on food, new babies, for health, and for healing. Basically, I learned to have a prayer in my heart at all times. This is a lot of praying, yet, when I’ve adhered closely to this, I’ve noticed a life full of support and peace.

For the last month or so, I have been attended guided meditation and was surprised to be tapping back into that mysterious world where we don’t have an explanation how things work out for us when we ask. It brought this awareness to me that putting spirituality as a priority puts everything in perspective. There may be many ways to achieve high levels of spirituality, but make sure you have a practice in place and see how much more manageable life really can be. It is so worth the time sacrifice.

Image

Peace and love to you,

Michelle

Leave a Reply

